Best Snowboarding of the Year Celebrated at 18th Annual Transworld Snowboarding Riders’ Poll

Results are in from TRANSWORLD SNOWBOARDING’s Riders’ Poll 18 held last Friday during Dew Tour weekend at the Riverwalk Center in Breckenridge, Colorado. After spending the past five years in Denver and previously Las Vegas and San Diego, this year’s Riders’ Poll debut in Breckenridge marked its first iteration in the mountains, drawing a crowd of nearly 1,000 spectators, pros and industry insiders to celebrate snowboarding.

Eddie Wall and Peter Line conducted the show with help from a list of notable presenters including Todd Richards, Louie Vito, Danny Davis, Mark McMorris, Terje Haakonsen, Jack Mitrani, Spencer O’Brien and Chris Grenier.

Only one award winner was not on-hand to take home their trophy. Standout Performance of the Year winner Jérôme Tanon sent in a video acceptance speech from France that was a hit with the audience.

Rider of the Year winner Bode Merrill’s sincere speech was a reminder to everyone in attendance the risks associated with much of the snowboarding that garners Riders’ Poll nomination, and he used his acceptance speech to address the avalanche he narrowly survived during the filming of the movie that won him the award: “I was very close to dying this year, and I was almost gone and so standing here tonight is extra special to me.”

Devun Walsh also accepted his Legend Award with an equally earnest address to the crowd, beautifully acknowledging his appreciation for snowboarding and his gratitude for the accolade.

The Riders’ Poll 18 winners are as follows:


Men’s Rider of the Year

Bode Merrill


Women’s Rider of the Year

Kimmy Fasani


Men’s Rookie of the Year

Jesse Paul


Women’s Rookie of the Year

Klaudia Medlova


Men’s Video Part of the Year

Kazu Kokubo


Women’s Video Part of the Year

Robin Van Gyn


Video of the Year



Online Series of the Year



Standout Performance of the Year

Jérôme Tanon, The Eternal Beauty of Snowboarding


Legend Award

Devun Walsh


Influencer Award

Leanne Pelosi