Mike Shea and Bibian Mentel are Crowned Champions at Dew Tour’s First Ever Adaptive Competition, Presented by Toyota

It was a snowy winter day at Breckenridge Ski Resort, Colo. during the 2016 Dew Tour ski and snowboard competition, presented by Mountain Dew® and TEN: The Enthusiast Network. The first day of competition featured Dew Tour’s first ever men’s and women’s Adaptive Competition, presented by Toyota, with 20 of the top snowboard para-athletes from around the world going for their best time in the banked slalom.

Presented by Toyota, in partnership with Adaptive Action Sports, each competitor was allotted three runs to make their fastest time possible, and their chance at the Dew Tour Title. Consistent snowfall didn’t seem to hold riders back from flying through the challenging banked slalom course. After all was said and done, it was Colorado local, Mike Shea with a time of 39.93 seconds, who was crowned the first Dew Tour Adaptive Competition Champ.

“I feel amazing that I was able to pull off a win at the first ever Dew Tour banked slalom event for adaptive athletes,” said Shea. “I am so appreciative of everything that Adaptive Action Sports, Toyota, Dew Tour, Breckenridge and Mountain Dew has done for this event.”

Coming in less than a tenth of a second behind Shea at 40.05 seconds was San Francisco’s Evan Strong. Third place honors went to Pennsylvania native Mike Minor at 40.23 seconds.

With Adaptive Action Sports founder and 2014 Paralympic bronze medalist Amy Purdy out of the contest due to a recent injury, the women’s field opened up, with Bibian Mentel reigning supreme, with the fastest scores on both of her runs, finishing with a best of 45.35 seconds.

“It’s awesome being here and it was great we got the chance to show that we as adaptive riders can ride in an event like this,” expressed Mentel.

Rallying in second behind Mentel was Lisa Bunschoten from the Netherlands, with 45.64 seconds. Salt Lake City local, Brenna Huckaby, finished third in 48.07 seconds.

Dew Tour and Toyota will also be giving back to Adaptive Action Sports all weekend long by donating 10 dollars each time an event-goer takes a Toyota out for a spin at the Toyota’s Ride N’ Drive event taking place at the Blue River Plaza in downtown Breckenridge as part of the Dew Tour Festival.

Today also featured Men’s and Women’s Ski Slopestyle Jump and Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Jump. Instead of a formal slopestyle event, the reimagined Dew Tour has switched it up with two separate sections—a single massive slopestyle jump and a slopestyle jib section. Skiers and snowboarders compete in both events and scores are combined to reveal an overall winner. Slopestyle Jib is scheduled for tomorrow, Dec. 10, beginning at 9 a.m. MST. Due to inclement weather affecting jump speed this afternoon, Women’s Snowboarding Slopestyle Jump is now scheduled for later this weekend.

A few highlights from Ski Slopestyle Jump include Henrik Harlaut from Sweden, stomping a  double cork bio 1260, going into tomorrow with the highest two-run combined score of 81.32. Fourteen year-old Kelly Sildaru of Estonia who won the women’s ski slopestyle at the 2015 Dew Tour, scored an incredible 16 points above the competition today, with a two-run combined total of 86.33.

It was the triple-cork show in the Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Jump section, with birthday boy and back-to-back Dew Tour Slopestyle Champ, Canada’s Mark McMorris going into tomorrow’s Slopestyle Jib competition with the highest combined score of 95.33.

Tonight, under the lights in downtown Breckenridge, the best men in ski and snowboard streetstyle will compete for a chance at the Dew Tour Streetstyle title. Stay tuned for highlights and results tomorrow.

And join us tomorrow, Dec. 10, for the second day of competition at Dew Tour’s winter stop at Breckenridge Ski Resort for the Ski and Snowboard Slopestyle Jib Finals, and Sunday Dec. 11, for Ski and Snowboard Team Finals.

For fans that can’t make it in person, be sure to catch the live webcast of the competition on dewtour.com beginning at 9 a.m. MST. For the complete schedule and additional information, visit dewtour.com.



  1. Mike Shea, USA, 39.93 seconds
  2. Evan Strong, USA, 40.05 seconds
  3. Mike Minor, USA, 40.23 seconds
  4. Griim Narita, JPN, 40.73 seconds
  5. Matti Suur-Hamari, FIN, 41.31 seconds
  6. Zach Miller, USA, 41.58 seconds



  1. Bibian Mentel, NED, 45.35 seconds
  2. Lisa Bunschoten, NED, 45.64 seconds
  3. Brenna Huckaby, USA, 48.07 seconds