Nominees Announced for 18th Annual Transworld Snowboarding Riders’ Poll Awards

The 18th annual TRANSWORLD SNOWBOARDING Riders’ Poll Awards are landing in Breckenridge, Colorado, with winners to be honored at the Riverwalk Center on Friday, December 9th, 2016. The 18-year Riders’ Poll legacy blends the ultimate in snowboarding achievement with the Dew Tour’s new festival-style format that combines awards shows, music, on-snow events and action sports culture.

For over a decade and a half, TRANSWORLD SNOWBOARDING has polled the professional snowboarding community to find their picks for the best riders of the year. While TRANSWORLD SNOWBOARDING hosts the awards, the winners are truly a reflection of peer acknowledgement—the highest honor any rider can receive.  With the exception of the Legend Award and Influencer Award, which our staff chooses, these accolades are completely determined by the opinions of over 100 pro riders.

Leanne Pelosi will be the inaugural recipient of the Influencer Award, which designates someone whose exceptional contributions are forwarding snowboarding as a whole. Over Leanne’s decade-plus career as a professional snowboarder she has provided countless opportunities for others, culminating with the direction of the recently released Full Moon Film.

Devun Walsh, whose professional career currently spans twenty years, will be recognized for his massive impact on snowboarding with the Legend Award. The first Canadian to receive the award, Devun also had his hand in film production this past season with Wildcats Never Die, a movie honoring the heritage and solidifying the relevance Canada’s most esteemed snowboard crew.

In addition, the prestigious TWSNOW Readers’ Choice Awards presented by Toyota will be announced, as decided by thousands of readers and fans of TRANSWORLD SNOWBOARDING.

We’re proud to announce that this year’s nominees are as follows:

Men’s Readers’ Choice presented by Toyota

Bode Merrill
Scott Stevens
Travis Rice

Women’s Readers’ Choice presented by Toyota

Jess Kimura
Leanne Pelosi
Robin Van Gyn

Online Video Series Of The Year

FLAV — Rusty Toothbrush

Standout Performance Of The Year

Christian Haller, GLUE + record-breaking hip air at Nine Knights
Jérôme Tanon, The Eternal Beauty of Snowboarding
Jesse Burtner, 20 Years of Jesse Burtner

Video Of The Year

Reckless Abandon, Bode Merrill & Jon Ray
The Fourth Phase, Travis Rice, Red Bull Media House

Men’s Rookie Of The Year

Jesse Paul
Red Gerard
Severin Van Der Meer

Women’s Rookie Of The Year

Jackie Lammert
Klaudia Medlova
Marjorie Couturier

Men’s Video Part Of The Year

Bode Merrill
Kazu Kokubo
Scott Stevens 

Women’s Video Part Of The Year

Jess Kimura
Kimmy Fasani
Robin Van Gyn           

Men’s Rider Of The Year

Bode Merrill
Scott Stevens
Travis Rice 

Women’s Rider Of The Year

Danyale Patterson
Jess Kimura
Kimmy Fasani

Influencer Award

Leanne Pelosi

Legend Award

Devun Walsh

To see who will be crowned the best the riders of the year, join us on Friday, December 9th, at the Riverwalk Center in Breckenridge, Colorado, for the 18th Annual Riders’ Poll Awards hosted by Peter Line and Eddie Wall. Doors open at 7:00 pm. The show starts at 8:30 pm.  Media and guests RSVP HERE to reserve your spot at snowboarding’s premier celebration!

Stay connected to @TWSNOW on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for info and to tune in to live updates from the biggest night in snowboarding. Use the hashtag #TWRIDERSPOLL to kick off the conversation.